Ouch! I Dislocated My Inventory

I dislocated my inventory, and boy does it sting. Don’t you hate it when you dislocate your inventory? It’s worse than hitting your funny bone.

Dislocated wrist child, Fishbowl BlogHow Inventory Dislocation Happens

Here’s how it happened: I’ve got a nice big warehouse full of parts and products and one day an order came in. Suddenly, I had to find one item out of hundreds in my warehouse. What did I do? I hunted through to find that item because I forgot where I put it. And when I finally found where it’s supposed to be, I realized that when the order arrived I had put it in the wrong place and now it’ll take forever to find it.

That’s not fun.

Of course, I’m just enjoying a little wordplay by talking about dislocating inventory. What I really mean is that I misplaced my inventory.

All of this boils down to inventory management. You need to know how many products to order, where they are going, and how reliable your suppliers are. It’s easier said than done. That’s why there are more dislocations in inventory management than there are in college football.

The expense of misplaced inventory can stack up fast if you’re not careful. For manufacturers, you might not use all of the parts you had assigned to a project and so you need to have a way to account for those spare parts and recover them. For wholesalers and retailers, you need to keep your warehouse records up to date to provide good customer service.

Solution to Inventory Dislocation

Happily, there’s an answer to the problem of inventory dislocation. It’s inventory tracking software. Inventory tracking software is like an elbow pad or knee pad, protecting companies from injury because of slipups in product orders and warehouse management.

You can use inventory tracking software to make sure your orders arrive on time and get stored in the right place. Taking these steps will help you stop dislocating your inventory and hopefully let it heal.

About Robert Lockard

Robert Lockard is a copywriter with Fishbowl. He writes for several blogs about inventory management, manufacturing, QuickBooks and small business. Fishbowl Inventory is the #1-requested inventory management software for QuickBooks users. Robert enjoys running, reading, writing, spending time with his wife and children, and watching movies. His favorite movies include Mr. Smith Goes to Washington, Fiddler on the Roof, Back to the Future and Lawrence of Arabia.
This entry was posted in fun, inventory tracking software and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

